The Man from Maghera Rambles Through Africa (2010)

for symphony orchestra.

Duration: 5 mins.

Commissioned by the RTÉ Concert Orchestra with the aid of bursary funding from the Arts Council of Ireland.
Premiered by The RTÉ Concert Orchestra, David Brophy (cond.), Nov 2010, National Concert Hall, Dublin

​Score/Part requests to

Programme Note

This 5 minute work was composed as a small gesture of thanks from me to Martin Hayes for the inspirational music he has created with Dennis Cahill and for the great friendship and encouragement they gave to me when we worked together between 2005 and 2015.

It begins with a mournful slow air style music, with hints of Arvo Part, before moving into a fast, jig style movement, with influences from Zimbabwean Chimurenga music.


What the critics say…
  • “The concert also included the first part of a traveloguish The Man from Maghera Rambles Through Africa, part of a thank-you suite for Hayes and Cahill that’s also intended as a showpiece for the RTÉCO.”